Homemade Chicken Noodle Soup

Often when I was younger, I would find comfort in having Campbell’s Chicken Noodle Soup. It was one of those soups that I enjoyed when I was 100% healthy and when I was deathly sick.

andy-warhol-campbell-s-soup-i-chicken-noodle-c-1968

The other day, my little sister asked me if I wanted to have a homemade version of chicken noodle soup and I gladly answered yes. The recipe she had was fairly simple and I believe it’s a much more healthier option than the Campbell’s canned version.

The following ingredients were:

• Chicken thighs cut into cubes (chicken breast is optional)

• Carrots cut into cubes

• Campbell’s chicken broth (can of box)

• Onions (medium-cut)

• Spaghetti noodles (keep them long or cut them short)

265

Steps:

1. Cut all the ingredients (carrots, onions and chicken thighs).

2. Cook the spaghetti noodles on the stove in a pot of water. Once the spaghetti noodles are cooked, set them aside to drain.

3. Cook the chicken cubes on a pan seasoning with thyme, salt and pepper (season to your own tastes). Once the chicken is cooked, place it on the side.

4. Place a pot on the stove and pour in chicken broth until boiled.

5. Stir carrots into the broth and allow to simmer until half-cooked. Carrots take the longest to cook.

6. Stir spaghetti noodles and chicken into the broth and allow to simmer for another 5 minutes.

7. Last but not least, stir onions into the soup until soft. Then your soup concoction is ready!

The soup can be served with a number of items such as crackers or bread. I ate mine with crushed up crackers.

Cooking is a great way to de-stress and whenever I have time, I try to cook as much as I can. Playing with ingredients in the fridge is another one of my favourite past times. I’m fortunate enough to be brought up in a household where cooking is a cherished hobby and I hope to write some more recipes later on for you all.  Take care once again and stay positive!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

