Turkey, Corn and Bean Chili

I occasionally crave for the most random foods, one of which is chili. This time I wasn’t the one craving for chili, it was my dear lovely mother. I am unbelievably alike to her, so it was a great reason to try out a new recipe.

284

Throughout the school year and the past summer, I would often make chili for my lunch or dinner to bring to school or work. It was definitely a great source for protein and a quick and healthy meal. My mother found a recipe in the newspaper and asked me to make it for her on my day off. The recipe was literally ripped out of the newspapers (as you can see in the picture), but the recipe was easy to read nonetheless.

As per recipe, I used all the ingredients listed but the jalapeno pepper, chili powder and sour cream were omitted. My family does not usually eat spicy foods, so this fit our taste buds much more. Margarine was placed in a pot while cooking the onion and green peppers. Ground turkey (definitely a healthier option than ground beef!) was stirred in.

266

Garlic, beans, tomatoes, and kernel corn were stirred in afterwards.

267

After simmering for about 15-20 minutes, the chili was ready to serve. The recipe calls for serving it in many ways such as in a hollowed-out dinner roll, over pasta or on its own. I gave my family members the option of having it served by itself with garnishes (shredded cheese and green onions) with crackers…

268

Or in a baked potato (it reminds me a lot of the English Jacket Potato!). Sour cream was another garnish in the ingredients but we decided otherwise.

269

This recipe was a great healthy and light meal for your day. I absolutely loved the colouring of this recipe. I think of autumn and the changing of the leaves. A mixture of reds, oranges, yellows and a bit of green! Since the days are getting colder, this is definitely a heart-warming (and stomach-warming) meal to make! I will most definitely add this recipe to my repertoire. Let me know how it worked out for you and leave comments!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

