I Scream For Ice Cream

Wakey wakey, eggs and bakey! Sunshine and butterflies were both out that morning. Yet another relaxing day in the heart of New York. I’m not sure if you are like myself, but I always start my morning with a warm breakfast (granted that I have enough time to make it). That morning, I woke up craving a grilled cheese sandwich. I popped in an over-easy cooked egg and some sliced avocadoes to my grilled cheese as well.

206

After a hearty breakfast, I had a bit of paperwork to get through as I was in the midst of applying for a job. While my boyfriend was working away from his computer, I used his big screen TV as my monitor. One of the perks of having a techy boyfriend, I got to use the big screen and I had access to Apple TV.

It was nice to just stay at home and relax once again. We definitely snacked on a lot of food while we were taking it easy at the apartment. Pocky sticks (chocolate flavoured) are one of my favourite Asian snacks. We had picked up a couple of things while we were out grocery shopping the other day. One of my favourite fruits is dragonfruit. These aren’t always sold regularly in grocery stores, but when I do see them, I’m sure to grab one.

Dragonfruit has an interesting taste; it’s sweet but not sugary sweet. The texture is a lot like a strawberry because of its seeds. If you ever get a chance to try it, definitely do!

During the evening we made a bit of a feast. Since we bought a lot of groceries the other day, we wanted to make sure none of it went to waste. We made two vegetable dishes – Kale chips and Boiled Baby Bak Choy = and two meat dishes. The pork ribs were one of my mother’s recipes and the salmon was simply pan-fried after being marinated in soya sauce, garlic and green onions. Simple meal for a simple evening.

Since we were indoors practically the whole night, my boyfriend suggested we visit the Chinatown Ice Cream Factory. He had said that they had the best flavours of ice cream and that it was uncommon to find them in other ice cream stores.

263

The ice cream factory was not a far walk from the apartment. The neon light sign shone brightly as we strolle down the streets of Chinatown.

266

I was surprised to see how small the actual ice cream parlour was. It seemed as if a lot of the customers ordered their ice cream items to go instead of staying in to have their ice cream.

277
The different flavours offered at the Chinatown Ice Cream Factory

I found it absolutely adorable that a character represented each flavour; all of these flavour were displayed on a board hung up on a wall. Each of the little characters had a unique facial expression that quickly brought a smile to my face. These were the flavours for Summer 2015. I definitely plan to visit again to see what other flavours will be offered then.

My boyfriend and I tried a bunch of different flavours but both settled on zen butter. I also got taro flavour on my ice cream cone while he got red bean in a cup.

271
Chinatown Ice Cream Factory – Zen Butter, Taro and Red Bean

We enjoyed most of our ice creams indoors because it was terribly hot during the hot September night. It was also really nice to be able to enjoy our ice cream in air conditioning. Not sure about you, but I hate being rushed. I don’t particularly like my ice cream melting all over my hand. I could have had my ice cream in a cup (like my boyfriend) and this would have solved my predicament, but there is something about enjoying ice cream on a cone that cannot be replaced.

278

We ended off our evening with another stroll to see what New York had to offer. Since we had consumed so much food, we thought it would be nice to work off some of those calories. The view was ever breathtaking of the Brooklyn Bridge was breath-taking. I felt so grateful to have been able to breathe the evening air and spend time with my significant other.

While on our walk, we spotted an interesting pieces of structure. It turns out that the city builds these “parks” to encourage individuals to exercise.

282

Here is to say that we tried every one of these “machines.” I had some difficulties with some of them, but it was nice to just be able to see that the city had some of these sorts of things to offer people.

Overall a restful but productive day. I was happy to have found a local ice cream shop and I plan to visit them again to try more flavours. Ta-ta for now and I’ll post more of my travels soon!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

One thought on “I Scream For Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

