Across the Universe

Comfy outfit, check. Phone charged, check. Purse packed, check.

449

I always have my outfit placed on my bed to start off my day. I find it’s very relaxing to pick an outfit after making my bed. I find a nice outfit helps me get ready for the day, and that’s the number one step to get me organized.

Once I was done with that, I ventured back to The American Museum of Natural History; It has 4 floors in total. I knew that I wasn’t able to finish the whole museum in one day, so I left the apartment relatively early to optimize my time. Unfortunately I got stuck in a huge line-up to get into the museum.

457

It was a rainy and gloomy morning, so I figured a lot of tourists wanted to stay indoors that day. After a good 30 minutes waiting in line, I was admitted into the museum and ready to start my tour.

462

On my second day at the museum, the exhibits that I saw were the Hayden Big Bang Theatre, Hall of Biodiversity, North American Mammals, and the Hall of Gems, Minerals and Meteorites. The day before I had gone to the hall of gems and minerals but I wanted to have a better look at the displays.

The Hayden Big Bang Theory gave me a good look at the universe. I always enjoyed learning about different planets and what it is like in space.

The biodiversity exhibit was probably my favourite exhibit on my second day. It felt like I was underwater gazing at the different species displayed. It was darker and dimly lit just like how I imagined what it was like to be many distances under water.

After a good two and a half hours, my feet wanted some rest. I thought it was about time to move to my destination. I also needed a change of pace and I made my way on the MTA to the heart of New York to Times Square.

My first stop was to buy a hot dog since I was terribly hungry after walking around, but the next stop was the Disney Store. I am a huge fan of Disney. I think I always will be. I’ve seen every Disney movie possible and I’m absolutely in love with the little Tsum Tsum plushies. I always buy them at every Disney store that I go to, and I have a huge collection. This collection is ever growing and I plan to do another update on what ones I have.

Last year they had just released the movie Inside Out, which is an amazing movie. If you were a psychology major, like myself, you’ll laugh even harder at the subtle jokes the characters make and how the plot explains people’s emotions. I adored the little character plushies that the sold for this movie.

They also sold Star Wars merchandise since the Star Wars movie was coming out. If you have not seen the movie, I definitely recommend watching the movie. I was never a Star Wars fan, but after marathoning all 6 movies before the most recent one, I was converted.

My next stop was the biggest Toys R Us Store. It honestly was one of the biggest ones that I’ve seen because it had a ferris wheel. I really was tempted to get my boyfriend to ride with me the first time I was there, but I saved him the embarrassment. One thing that I absolutely loved about this store was that it sold adult mind games. This separate section was called – Marbles – the Brain Store.

596a (21)

This store sold a bunch of different mind games for all ages. I literally spent a good hour playing games with the employees. They were telling me all about the different games and how they have a range of different levels within the games.

These games were never-ending and they were not like the typical games that you play like Risk or Monopoly. I felt that it required a different way of thinking to win these games. Some of these games could also be played solo so you wouldn’t have to wait for a friend to be entertained.

596a (8)
Archimedes

One of these games called Archimedes was featured on the show Big Bang Theory. I enjoyed playing these games that I was so tempted to buy a few to bring home. My highschool classmates and I occasionally host board games nights, so this would have been great to bring.

After a good hour spent playing games, I retired at Forever 21 to buy a couple of items. What I like about the Times Square Forever 21, is that there are 4 floors. Three of which are dedicated to women. I also ventured into H&M to see what new items were offered.

My day was nearing its end and I met up with my boyfriend once again after his shift. We went to Koreatown which was only a subway ride away from where he worked. Our mutual friend was meeting us for dinner, but before we met up with him, a store caught my eye.

600b (2)

This store was filled with cutely designed characters and fruits. If you have ever seen any of these products before, you’ll know that it is Tony Moly.

This store has one of the cutest packaging that I’ve seen in terms of Korean products. They sell a bunch of skin care items as well as makeup items. Both of which are brightly coloured and so attractively packaged.

I bought some of their face masks and their sunscreen. I will definitely do a beauty haul and review for this brand in a later post. Once we were done looking around at the store (aka I was done looking at this store), my boyfriend and I headed next door to Five Senses to meet our friend for dinner.

This restaurant had only been open for a few months and our mutual friend suggested we give it a try.

Five Senses felt very cozy and quaint. It felt like it was a restaurant that was lived in and there were a bunch of different menu items that I had not seen before. Unfortunately they did not have Pork Bone Soup (Gamjatang) which is one of my favourite Korean main dishes, but I settled for another soup-based meal.

600c (4)
Side dishes

We were immediately given a bunch of different side dishes. They vary from kimchi, pickled cucumbers, rice cakes, cold salad and potatoes.

600c (7)
Rice cake with seafood and cheese

This first item we ordered was Hael Mool Ddukboki which was essentially rice cakes made with an assortment of seafoods (scallops, clams, etc.) and cheese. It’s a pretty spicy dish, so after a few bites I was down for the count.

Our table was covered with food after we received our mains. My main was a tofu soup dish that was quite similar to Gamjatang. I love soup-based dishes because of the way Koreans make their broths. I have never successfully been able to make Korean food, so whenever I go out for food, I tend to indulge in it. The whole meal was just spectacular. I was content with what we had ordered and I was satisfied.

600c (9)
Pinkberry frozen yogurt

One cannot enjoy their meal without topping it off with some dessert. I was so happy to find a Pinkberry in Koreatown. It’s one of my favourite frozen yogurt places and there are only a few Canadian locations. You’ll often find me in one if I ever spot one.

Overall I had an amazing day. I thought it was quite productive and it was packed with museum-seeing, shopping and great food!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

 

Leave a Reply

