Butter Chicken Recipe

Food cravings lately for Indian food? That’s totally what happened to me the other day. I went on a bit of a cooking spree and one of the dishes that I made was Butter Chicken. I looked up a bunch of different recipes and tweaked it so it fit my taste buds. So, let’s get started!

Ingredients:
– Boneless chicken thighs
– Brown sugar
– Cinnamon
– Oregano
– Nutmeg
– Honey
– Cayenne pepper
– Coconut milk
– Cumin
– Curry powder
– Salt and pepper
– Lemon juice
– Coriander powder
– Paprika
– Onions, chopped
– Garlic cloves, minced
– Can of diced tomatoes

A lot of ingredients for this recipe? Yes, but not to worry, most of them are just spices!

The boneless chicken thighs were cut into smaller chunks and I marinated it for 30 minutes. In the marination, I put minced garlic, salt, pepper and freshly squeezed lemon juice. I put a plastic cover over the top while it marinated in the fridge for half an hour. Preparation for the rest of the meal was done during this time.

311
Marinated Boneless Chicken Thigh Chunks

While the meat was being marinated, I had diced a full onion and gathered all the other ingredients/spices.

312
Diced Onions
313
Some of the many ingredients

I used a huge wok to cook my Butter Chicken but you may use a huge pot if you wish or a deeper pan so that the chicken can simmer fully in the sauce. I took two big tablespoons of butter and melted it before frying the chicken in it. The butter immediately soaked into the chicken. Before the chicken is fully cooked, I scooped it into a bowl to be cooked again afterwards in the sauce.

314
Cooking the chicken in butter

After scooping out the chicken, I took another tablespoon of butter and melted it before placing my spices into the wok. All the spices – including brown sugar, cinnamon, oregano, nutmeg, cayenne pepper, cumin, curry powder, salt, pepper, coriander powder and paprika – were cooked for a minute before putting the chicken back into the wok. I made sure to cover all the chicken pieces before pouring in the diced tomatoes.

Once the can of diced tomatoes were poured in, I had left it to simmer for 15-20 minutes.

After it was done simmering, I poured in a can of coconut milk and mixed it to become an orangey coloured mixture. Once again, I left it to simmer for another 10 minutes before it was ready to serve.

319
Butter Chicken with rice

After all that cooking, I was ready to have my meal. I served my Butter Chicken with rice, but this can also be served with naan bread as well.

I hoped you enjoyed this recipe of Butter Chicken and I look forward to sharing with you more recipes!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

