Review: Vichy Laboratories

Vichy skin care products have always leave me feeling like I’ve made a great investment. These three products are my holy grail for my skincare routine. I started using Vichy products since my early years of university and I continue to use them.

IMG_0255
Vichy products

The above products are as followed: Unclogging exfoliating gel, 3-in-1 Cleanser + Scrub + Mask, and 3-in-1 One-step cleansing micellar solution. The first two products are from the Normaderm line, while the last item is from the Purete Thermale line.

IMG_0259
Unclogging Exfoliating Gel

This product is one that I use every single day to wash my face in the morning and at night. There are tiny microbeads in this product that gently massages the dead skin cells and exfoliates your face. I use this product both in the morning and night because in the morning I feel there is a thin layer of oil on top of my skin when I wake up and this product helps me freshen my skin before I apply my moisturizer and face sunscreen. I also use this product to wash my face before bed because I like to cleanse my skin before applying my nightly creams. It’s a great way to make sure your pores stay clean without striping your face of its natural oils.

IMG_0261
Close-up of the gel

A dim-sized to a quarter-sized of the product is enough to cleanse your face. The little microbeads are a light blue colour and these help to exfoliate your skin. The gel itself has a greenish hue. The product does not have a strong scent and the after-scent makes you feel like you’ve actually cleansed your face.

This bottle costs around $22 and I think it is worth every penny. It takes me at least three months to finish a bottle. I wash my face every single day and it does a great job in keeping my skin feel clean.

IMG_0260
3-in-1 Cleanser + Scrub + Mask

This next product is from the same Normaderm line. It is a 3-in-1 product that works as a cleanser, exfoliator and mask. I use this product nearly every day but my uses for this product changes depending on the day. My everyday routine begins with cleaning my face with the Unclogging exfoliating gel. The first day I use this product as an extra cleanser/exfoliator, so I take a dim-sized amount for this step. The second day I use this product as a mask, so I take enough product to spread a thin layer on my face. I leave this mask on for 5 minutes and rinse it off with warm water. Once I’ve used it as a mask the second day, I revert back to using it as a cleanser/exfoliator. One day – cleanser/exfoliator, other day – mask.

IMG_0264
Close-Up of the gel and 3-in-1 product

Above is a close-up of both the Unclogging exfoliating gel and the 3-in-1 product from the Normaderm line. This is a thicker product compared to the gel but it also has small blueish microbeads. This product spreads nicely on your skin when doing a mask and it isn’t too thick so you don’t feel as if your skin is being suffocated. It also has a light scent like the gel and works as a great product if you’re planning to travel light since it may be used in three different ways.

This product is also around $22, just like the exfoliating gel. It lasts for around 3 months as well since I am using it nearly every single day for my skincare routine.

IMG_0256
3-in-1 One-Step Cleansing Micellar Solution

The next product is another 3-in-1 product but from the Purete Thermale line. It works as a cleansing water, soothing toner and eye-makeup remover. I’ve mainly used this as a cleansing water and a soothing toner, since it doesn’t work as well as an eye-makeup remover. I sometimes use this to remove any excess eyeliner or mascara though.

What I like about the micellar solution is that it is actually water-based. I’ve used a number of toners that is cream-like and by using a water-based product, my skin feels a lot cleaner. I have a few red spots around my face due to blemishes and this product works as a great toner to soothe the redness. Although it may not function well in the three functional realms, I love how good of a toner it is.

IMG_0257
Close-up of the Micellar Solution

As you can see above, I have nearly used up my bottle and I plan on repurchasing some more. This product costs around $20 a bottle, which I find is a decent price since it can be used for a month to two months. It has no scent whatsoever and my skin feels extremely hydrated afterwards.

Vichy has always been a great brand for me and I recommend anyone with sensitive to combination skin to use this brand. I have oils in my T-zone area and I tend to break out if I am not using the right product. Back in my early university years, I had a consultation in Shoppers Drugmart and the consultant recommended this brand to me and I’ve used it since then. If you are looking to get a consultation about what sort of skin type you are, it is worth going into your local drugstore and asking them for help. I hope this was helpful and until next time, goodbye!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

 

Leave a Reply

