Review: La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Legere

Fancy French name? That’s all I could think of when I first saw this brand. I thought this might have been one of those over-the-top, too-fancy-for-me-on -the-shelf item that costed more than its worth. To my surprise, I was absolutely and utterly wrong.

IMG_0282
La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Legere Intensive 24-HR Rehydrating Care

This is my favourite moisturizer of all time. It is the La Roche-Posay Hydraphase Intense Legere Intensive 24-HR Rehydrating Care (what a mouthful!). Out of the moisturizers that I’ve tried thus far, this is the most hydrating product for my skin. A lot of moisturizers leave my skin feeling dry or it is much too creamy/oily. I have a combination skin type with a pretty oily T-zone, so this light moisturizer does the trick. This product stops my skin from producing excess oil and keeps it moisturized throughout the day.

I first discovered this product when I went into a local Shoppers Drugmart and someone working there asked me if I wanted to have my skin hydration levels tested. She used this little tool to measure my hydration level and unfortunately it was a low 20%. The lady told me that most people generally have 40-50% skin hydration and I was considered very dehydrated. She recommended this product as one of the most liked products from customers. Since I am the type to try out new products, I immediately bought the product. Although I was hesitant at the price of $45 for such a small bottle, I was very content with the investment I made that day. To this day, this is my go-to moisturizer.

IMG_0285

This bottle stands at 50 mL which is a smaller moisturizer bottle than I am used to. It has a pump that allows easily application.

The product comes out as a white, almost clear product that is more liquid than a solid consistency. It soaks right into your skin after application; it also does not leave any white streaks. Since this is part of the Hydraphase line, it is more water-based and I feel the product soaks into the skin to allow as much moisture as possible. The product is Intense Legere as well, which translates to be a light formula. By accident, I once bought the Intense Riche version of this product and my skin immediately broke out.

If you have combination skin, like myself, I would highly recommend the light formulation. Since this product is a light formula, it gives your skin just the right amount of moisturizing without it having to product any more oils. If you have dry skin, I would recommend the rich formulation. That being said, I knew from then on that lighter formulas are the best match for my skin type.

This product has been my holy grail of moisturizers and I highly recommend it. The only thing I shy away from this product is the cost of it, but other than that, it is a great product overall. It is light, moisturizing and hydrating. If you have any more questions about this product or any previous products I have discussed, please leave a comment! Have an amazing day!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

