Teavana Mate Orange

Tea on a cold wintery day or an iced tea on a hot summery day are two things I’ve always enjoyed. Earlier I had reviewed a wonderful tea to use for iced teas. This time I thought I would change it up and review a tea that might be good for cold days!

Teavana Mate Orange or the new revamped Maharaja Chai/Samurai Chai Tea Blend is the such a colourful tea blend. There’s a bunch of different ingredients such as cinnamon, oolong tea, ginger pieces and little dried candied fruit pieces such as pineapple and papaya. Of course, there are some lovely orange peels to make sure the tea has that added orange hint to the beverage.

img_0516

This tea requires only 1.5 scoops and a steep of 5 minutes before you can have a fresh cup of it. The minute the water hits the tea, a beautiful orange hue fills your cup and you can really smell the orange and chai of this tea blend. I love that it doesn’t take long to steep this tea and it has this wonderful colour to it.

img_0519

Like a lot of teas that are steeped for a hot drink, it takes awhile for it to cool down before really tasting the tea. The scent of this tea definitely is quite enjoyable but the taste of the tea was not what I expected it to be. It was actually more herb-y than I wanted it to be and the taste of orange was covered by the tea taste. It might have to do with the fact that I’m used to a more fruit tasting tea, but the mate of the tea was too overpowering for my tastes. I gave myself two tries for this tea, but both times left me feeling empty and unsatisfied.

Thumbs down for this tea, and it is definitely not a tea I will be re-purchasing in the future.

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

