Review: NYX Micro Brow Pencil – Chocolate

Brows on fleek? Clearly that has been the trend the past year or two. It’s something that is hard to achieve since most individuals want to have that clean drawn effortless look. I am a little new to the eyebrow product scene but I heard many good things about this product, so I thought I would give it a whirl. NYC Micro Brow Pencil

NYX’s Micro Brow Pencil in the shade Chocolate was the one I picked out to try. I was talking to a Shoppers representative and this was the colour that she recommended. Also a tip to buy eyebrow products, light hair – two shades darker than your hair colour and dark hair – go one or two shades lighter than your hair colour.

img_0609

Since my hair colour ranges from a dark brown/red colour to black, I picked a warm toned chocolate colour for my eyebrows.

The first thing I would comment on the simple packaging NYX has for its product. You know exactly what it is from the outside of the box, and it isn’t an oversized package so it’s easy to carry around (anyone else tend to keep their products in their original packaging?).

Once I took out the product, I was surprised how thin the actual brow pencil was. I suppose the micro not only describes the pencil’s ability to draw small lines but the actual product itself.

The eyebrow pencil was designed with a spoolie and a pencil. The product is twisted up when being used and easily twisted back down once you are done. I found it very convenient to have the spoolie at the other end since after drawing in your brows, you want to brush them out to make them more natural looking.

Below is are swatches of the product. It seems a bit darker but it worked perfectly with the shade of my hair at the time.

The product is easy to use and it glides on easily when applied. It didn’t take much product for it to become pigmented. I thought that I would get through the product pretty quickly but it surprisingly lasted about 3 months. That isn’t too bad for a product that was only $12 at your local Shoppers Drugmart.  The spoolie was also super easy to use.

Overall I was happy with this brow pencil. It was easy to use and it’s inexpensive. I would purchase this product again if I was looking for a versatile easy-to-use brow pencil. I hope you enjoyed this review. Feel free to ask any questions or leave me some comments!

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

