Butter Avenue

3 years. It took me 3 years to get around to trying this lovely bakery/pastry store. My best friend and I talked about trying this place in our final years of university and we never got around to doing so. I am finally happy to say that I finally ventured into this little shop and purchased some macarons to taste.

IMG_3655
Two boxes of 6 and a mini macaron cup

 

The Butter Avenue location I went to was the one on Queen Street (super close to the airbnb place I stayed at the last time I went to visit). The shop offered many different flavoured macarons and some baked goods. I was only interested in the macarons where I purchased two boxes (one for myself and the other for a friend) and one mini mac cup for my sister.

IMG_3654
Mini Macaron Cup

The mini macaron cup was honestly way too cute to pass up on. The flavours that were offered in this cup were Raspberry, White Chocolate Strawberry, Earl Grey, Sea Salted Caramel, Pistachio Wild Cherry and Soothing Lavender (which is hidden in the back). My sister tried them all and she said they were super soft. Her favourite one was the raspberry and the sea salted caramel macarons.

My box of 6 came in a little yellow carton box that was tied together with this white twistable tie. When you opened it up, each of the macarons were displayed in a neat little row.

IMG_3634
Flavours in order (left to right) – Sea Salted Caramel, Earl Grey, Hojuicha Roasted Green Tea, Madagascar Vanilla, Lemon Poppyseed and Berry Punch

Above are the macarons that I had handpicked from the selection they had at the store.

Each any every one of these flavours were great on its own and I couldn’t help myself from finishing all of them in one sitting. They were bite-sized and super soft. I couldn’t get over how delicious they were. The colours were vibrant which made them even more appealing to eat.

From the 6 that I had picked, I vote the Sea Salted Caramel and the Earl Grey as my top 2 macarons. The Lemon Poppyseed was a good one too. I had eaten these macarons with a cup of Orange Pekoe tea (which I highly recommend doing if you wanted to cleanse your palette between the macarons).

Overall I had a great experience with Butter Avenue. The staff were very kind and helpful. They gave suggestions on which macarons to try and which were their top sellers. The macarons were scrumptious and I would go again once I’m back in town.

~Miss Happy Penguin

*Believe.inspire.love.dream.optimistic.*

Leave a Reply

